The Paul G. Quinnett Lived Experience Writing Prize

0 Comments | Posted

Overview of Contest:
The stories of those who have attempted suicide or experienced persistent suicidal ideation have, for too long, remained untold. Due to stigma and taboo, the world has been denied important educational narratives. The purpose of the Quinnett Lived Experience Writing Prize is to encourage the publication of these stories of survival, hope, recovery, and renewal.

Guiding Rule:
All entries must be related to the 1st person experience of suicidal ideation or a suicide attempt. Entries may be co-authored. Word limit is 2,500.

Writers must hold the personal copyright of the submission. At the time of the submission, a one-time copyright transmission to the American Association of Suicidology will need to be signed.

The inaugural deadline of this annual contest will be February 28, 2015. Only the first 100 submissions will be considered.

The judges for this contest shall consist of professional writers and members of the American Association of Suicidology as determined by the Association. Entries will be blinded so that judges will not be aware of the names of the writer during the judging process.

Award Made:
The contest winners will be announced at the annual conference of the American Association of Suicidology each April.

Prizes will be awarded to the top three entries. Honorable mentions may also be awarded at the judges' discretion.

All submissions, especially winners, may be utilized by AAS in print or web-based media.

Contest Rules:

Learn more here.


Leave a Comment